Being accused of deviant sexual acts with a minor can have devastating impacts on your life. As such, understanding how to respond to these charges is critical. If you have been charged with lewd acts with a minor, you may not even know what warranted the charges, as this offense encompasses several actions and behaviors. That’s why it’s in your best interest to keep reading, as the following blog explores these charges in further detail. Additionally, you will discover why you should connect with an Oklahoma City sex crimes lawyer as soon as possible to ensure you have strong legal representation for these matters.

What Warrants Lewd Acts With a Minor in Oklahoma?

It’s first and foremost most important to understand the charge of lewd or indecent proposals or acts to a child under 16 is more commonly known as child molestation. Additionally, you do not have to touch a child in order to molest them.

If you have been charged with lewd acts with a minor, several things can constitute this charge. However, it’s important to understand that while this is most often charged to parents and other caregivers of children, anyone who has inappropriate contact of a sexual nature with a child under the age of 16 can face criminal charges. The following actions, under Oklahoma law, warrant these charges:

  • Soliciting a minor to engage in illegal sexual activity with a child they believe to be under the age of 16
  • Looking at or touching the child in a lewd manner
  • Forcing the child to look at another person’s privates or watch pornography
  • To make a child touch themselves or the privates of another person
  • To urinate, ejaculate, or defecate near a child with the purpose of sexual gratification
  • Asking or persuading a child to a private location with the intention of a sex act

What Are the Penalties for This Crime?

The penalties for lewd acts with a minor can be incredibly intense. Though it may not seem as severe as sexual assault or rape, this crime warrants a felony charge. As such, you can face a minimum of three years in prison with the potential for up to 20 years. However, if the child involved is under the age of 12, you can face 25 years to life in prison.

Additionally, if you are charged, you must register as a Level 3 sexual offender in Oklahoma. This requires you to check in with local law enforcement every three months and will impact your housing and career opportunities for the rest of your life.

If you have been charged with child molestation, you should not hesitate to connect with an experienced attorney as soon as possible. Unfortunately, this charge can uproot and ruin your life. As such, contacting the Jones Firm, PLLC to discuss your circumstances with a sex crimes attorney is essential to giving you the best possible chance are receiving the best outcome for your unique situation. Connect with our team today to learn how we can assist you through these challenging legal times during a free consultation.